The Daily Post: Witness

For The Daily Post One-Word Prompt: Witness

I am witness to words and behaviors, secrets and privileged information, the dirty one side keeps hidden and the conspiracy the other side must maintain. I see people as they are human. I am witness to both the lies and the truths. I see people as they are not color. And I am witness because the seeds of both colors were birthed in me. To know what it is to be both and not be received as either compels me to a higher plane of identity. And I transcend skin color because I am witness.

2016-08-10_013630000_177B3_iOS
Chicago, circa 1985

 

Leave a Reply

