Liberty: A passing fad

amidala_liberty

In response to…

UK Israeli boycott ban contradicts official govt business guidelines

Magistrate Orders Apple to Help FBI Hack San Bernardino Shooter’s Phone

Wife of jailed CIA whistleblower Jeffrey Sterling demands his release with WH petition

Segregation? S. Dakota senate under fire after passing anti-transgender ‘bathroom bill’

I associate the word ‘liberty’ with freedom, wanderlust, autonomy, self-governance, self-definition; the ability to do whatever I want, whenever I want as long as I don’t impede on another’s liberty. As an American, I have been told from the time I was able to understand the English language, that I have been born with the right to liberty, along with those other two – life and the pursuit of happiness. Isn’t this fact the reason why America is supposed to be so great?

As I continue through my life’s journey, I am increasingly aware that liberty is disappearing, not only from the ‘great’ America, but also from my own daily life. Bit-by-bit, I am mindful that the ideas I listed above are slipping from my grasp as I anxiously claw to save them.

I believe my journey must now take a hard left. I must pursue true liberty in my day-to-day, in my neighborhood, city and country. Necessity drives me to shout who I am in the face of those who attempt to define me. The hunger for emancipation grows within me; cultivated by the very entity which seeks to starve it.

Didn’t someone important from long, long ago say, “Give me liberty, or give me death!”?

One thought on “Liberty: A passing fad

  1. RuffSis2

    I find myself feeling the same way sometimes but Ive come to the conclusion that it’s something that will always be unattainable, in this sense anyway, because true liberty only exists in one way…

    2 Corinthians 3:17
    Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty.

    So it is ultimately about He, not I. Who He is, what He did and what He is going to do that is the root and very definition of liberty. Is His spirit within me? Yes. Resting in that and knowing it isn’t I who will fight for, seek out or demand liberty in a world that will never really be capable of offering it but He who has already given it, that is the reality, that is the truth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

